Guest Comments and ​Reviews

ELSEBETH VIUM (Padborg, Denmark)                                                                                                     July 2017 

"We were so exited when we arrived. Very historical place and a very good special experience. I will gladly recommend this house​."


LEIGH POTHECARY (United Arab Emirates)                                                                                             July 2017

​"Thanks to Julia for being so helpful before and during our stay.  Byngley House is a one in a million property and we would recommend it highly. The property is amazing and a step back in time as soon as you walk through the door but with a high level of comfort required for modern day living. We all fell in love with the property and over the duration of our stay continued to find many things within the house that interested and amazed us. The history surrounding the place is amazing. A very comfortable stay and one that will be remembered. Thanks to Julia for giving us the opportunity to experience staying in such a historical house and we look forward to coming back again soon."


ESTHER COHEN (London, UK)                                                                                                                   July 2017

"We had a wonderful stay at Julia's place, everything was exactly as described, the house was absolutely beautiful and full of character and the communication was excellent.  Julia was very helpful with any questions we had and accommodating to our needs. We most certainly recommend this as a place to stay for anyone looking for a fun and relaxing weekend away!"​


DEBBIE MOORCROFT (Farnham, UK)                                                                                                       July 2017

"Superb place, as you will see from all the reviews before ours. We loved it, and if you want a touch of history, and a great base in Poole, book it NOW!"


STEVEN APPLER (Buffalo, New York, USA)                                                                                            July 22017

"Great historic space, lovely and lively sites to see within walking distance, and great shopping as well."


NAEEM GHULAMALI (Great Britain)                                                                                                        June 2017

"Fantastic house in Poole old town. This really is a gem of a building, and if you love your history, this will make you feel part of it"


RICHARD RALSTON (Leeds, UK)                                                                                                              June 2017

"Byngley House is a hidden gem, right in the heart of Poole Quay. It's located on a pedestrian road, very central, and when you open the front door you enter a completely different world. It's certainly got huge character, being built in the 1500's, with all the modern amenities you need. We were a party of five friends who studied near Poole in the 90's and the house played a perfect role in a great weekend. Great communication from Julia the owner, and I simply can't recommend this place highly enough."


CHRIS BENNELL (London, UK)                                                                                                                 May 2017 

"A stunning house to stay in for a weekend in Poole. There's so much history to the property and it's so lovely inside. Great location for exploring on foot, lovely to have a garage for the car and in a really quite area, despite being walking distance to the quay and high street. Julia was great to deal with, made everything so easy with check in and check out. Ideal for our family weekend away. Can't wait to come back!"


MICHAEL KNIGHT (Farnham, UK)                                                                                                             May 2017

"Staying at Byngley House is an unforgettable experience. Your own little piece of history ideally located for exploring the town and area, yet quiet and peaceful. We had a lovely stay in Poole, the house is everything Julia describes it as and more. A couple of daytrips to Brownsea Island and Sandbanks made the weekend complete. Highly recommended."


HEIN VAN VORSTENBOSCH (Bournemouth, UK)                                                                                     May 2017

"Stunning historic property. Beautifully maintained and perfectly clean. We had a wonderful and relaxed stay at Byngley. Well equipped kitchen made supper a doddle. Will certainly be back."


WOOLFGANG LOEWE (London, UK)                                                                                                         April 2017

"What an exciting house. In the middle of Poole it was exactly as described. We only stayed one night but wish we had stayed longer."


PAUL BURTON (Yamba, Australia)                                                                                                          April 2017

"Fascinating property located superbly by the Quay and Old Town. A piece of living history!"


PETER McNALLY (Portsmouth, UK)                                                                                                         April 2017

"What a fantastic place! The house is in such a central location with easy nearby parking it is perfect for exploring Poole and the surrounding areas. The pictures of the property do not do the house justice, it is an amazing place with the highlights being a large period working fireplace in the main room and a large master bedroom with free standing bathtub. If I find myself in the area in future I would love to stay here again."


KEITH LAY (Bransgore, UK)                                                                                                                     April 2017

"Well, I am a little hesitant to write this review as I feel like I discovered a hidden gem and don't really want hoards of other people booking and making it difficult for me to book again. What a great place to stay with friends. Just be sure to allow enough time to relax and experience being in a house built in 1555. Has the added advantage of being very close to Studland Bay, a beautiful unspoilt stretch of sandy beaches and heathland. Just don't tell anyone else.... please."


ANNETTE ADDYMAN (Basingstoke, UK)                                                                                                March 2017

"A fantastic family weekend in an amazing property. Byngley House is centrally located in Poole and beautifully restored. Julia made us very welcome and was very prompt in responding to any queries we had. Would definitely return. Thank you for a memorable stay."


SIMON PARRY (Harrogate, UK)                                                                                                             March 2017

"A truly stunning house with everything you need and great value for money. Although this house maybe hundreds of years old, there has been no expense spared in keeping it in excellent condition. The beds and sofa's are just so sumptuous and comfortable. I would highly recommend a stay here."


SARAH-JAYNE SMITH (High Wycombe, UK)                                                                                         March 2017

"The most amazing place I have ever had the pleasure to stay. So much history, so comfortable, so welcoming. Communication and welcome was spot on. Could not recommend highly enough. Thank you so much."


LUCINDA HELY-HUTCHINSON (London, UK)                                                                                    February 2017

"Fantastic house and location. My family and I were very comfortable and well taken care of. Looking forward to returning to Byngley House!"


MONICA PARTRIDGE (Queensland, Australia)                                                                                  January 2017

"Byngley House is stunning, what an amazing experience. We felt so privileged to have been able to enjoy this historical home. Julia was a wonderful host, everything was made easy and welcoming. It was everything we were hoping for plus so much more."


JAMES GOODILL (London, UK)                                                                                                           January 2017

"Six of us stayed at Byngley House over the New Year period and found the place absolutely fantastic. Julia is a friend host who is just at the end of the phone if you need anything. The pictures on here don't do it justice, the house is beautiful, well stocked with essentials and Julia even left us a bottle of Fizz for when we arrived. Would stay again and recommend to all :)"

  

ANNA MARIA PARSONS (Worthing, UK)                                                                                         December 2016

"Julia and Paul are perfect hosts. Great communication and ease of check-in, Paul even helped carry our bags to the front door. The property has an amazing ambience, perfect for our stay with 4 friends. Every detail has been considered for a fabulous stay, this property has character, charm and WOW factor without losing any aspects of home comfort. The location was great for our visits to Durdle Dor, Lulworth Cove, Tyneham village, Sandbanks and Studlands. We made full use of the kitchen and created some gorgeous 3-course meals in a well equipped kitchen. We shall book our next stay in the very near future. Can't recommend highly enough."


MATT JARVIS (London, UK)                                                                                                            December 2016

"This place is really cool. Julia is lovely and very helpful. The features of this old Elizabethan house are stunning and very authentic. Kitchen is very handy and all appliances are brand new - was perfect for Christmas. Definitely worth what we paid for it. Thanks Julia!​"


KARL ERIK (Lillehammer, Norway)                                                                                                December 2016

"Wonderful house and nice people."


RAJ (Southminster, UK)                                                                                                                  November 2016

"This house was perfect for our friends reunion, we stayed 2 nights but could have easily stayed longer as we instantly felt very relaxed and at home. The house was truly stunning and in impeccable condition. We loved the history with the house and it felt an honour to be able to enjoy such a grand house, it was effort to leave and explore Poole.  The location is perfect. It's in the old town which has lots of pubs and restaurants to choose from all with walking distance. The town is also very close with all the usual shops. The beds are very comfortable, for an old house it is very warm and cosy. Julia is lovely and very helpful and a great host. We recommend this house to anyone and everyone as it is a wonderful place to stay."


LINDA MOORES (Tonbridge Wells, UK)​                                                                                          November 2016

"Five of us stayed at Byngley House (plus two visiting friends) for a family celebration and we ALL loved it! The property is comfortable, full of character and warm. It is in the heart of Old Poole with pubs and restaurants nearby and very close to Poole Harbour so plenty to see and do. Julia and Paul both made us feel very welcome, and what surprised us initially was the little touches that made all the difference eg. cosy fire on the go, breakfast supplies, chocolates on the beds(!), fizz, etc., and not forgetting a hidden stash of umbrellas which we happened to need one day. The history however is also special. Imagine Oliver Cromwell striding up and down the stairs we used just this morning.... Thank you for helping our stay be memorable! We won't forget this."


GEMMA HITCHON (London, UK)                                                                                                         October 2016

"We loved staying here and would recommend to everyone. It actually made our trip more memorable as the building was so historic. The host was lovely and everything was very clean and had everything we needed. It was very cosy and lovely and warm. We were 4 adults, 2 toddlers and a newborn baby. Great location to explore. The Master bedroom had a huge wow factor."


IAN NOLAN (
Oxford, UK)                                                                                                                    October 2016
"What an amazing place to stay. One of those real gems that you find and can't quite believe how amazing it is. Julia couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming from the perfectly considered arrival welcome pack (including some very nice wine) to the daily log delivery. The house is an absolute must for those interested in Tudor history. The huge open inglenook fire was the perfect companion to late night wine and game playing. The area also has some great local restaurants, we did Sakuna Khrua Thai on Friday which was a game changer in my world of Thai food, and then Storm on Saturday - both less than a 5 minute walk from the house. Amazing house, amazing host, amazing location. Can't rate it high enough."


SERINA LUI​ (Hong Kong​)                                                                                                                   October 2016
"What a pleasant surprise when we were first entered to the Byngley House! There was no review on the House when we searched for a place to stay in Dorset, and we were so lucky to have picked it. Julia and Paul did not just a good job as a great host, but Julia's passion towards the historical house has certainly touched us. She has restored the house in a way that has enabled the guests to travel back in time, but at the same time being able to stay with modern comfort. It's like staying inside a museum. The house is well-equipped, well-located and in good size, and the host are so helpful, generous and responsive. We would highly recommend this place for travellers in group visiting Poole and Dorset."​


Copyright © Julia Bradley. All rights reserved.
Photography by Darron Slade (Slades Perfect Picture).

​​​​Byngley House